Burned – Ellen Hopkins

burned

This story told in verse is filled with teen angst, questions about faith and young love.  Pattyn, who belongs to a Mormon family, begins to have questions that her faith can’t or won’t answer.  Will God forgive her for having dreams about the very hot, Justin Proud?  Is a woman’s role to be obedient to her husband?  Even an abusive husband?  And what about love?  Will she ever experience real love?

I loved this book. When I started it I was taken by surprise as to how it is written in poetic verses, but I grew to like it as I continued. The characters in this book seem so life like I almost cried when I got to the suspenseful ending.  This book is very well written and is an easy read. – Brittany, Teen Clerk

Leave a Reply

