Eyes of the Emperor – Graham Salisbury

Eddy Okubo lies about his age and joins the army in his hometown of Honolulu only weeks before the Japanese bomb Pearl Harbor. Suddenly Americans see him as the enemy—even the U.S. Army doubts the loyalty of Japanese American soldiers.

Then the army sends Eddy and a small band of Japanese American soldiers on a secret mission to a small island off the coast of Mississippi. Here they are given a special job, one that only they can do. Eddy’s going to help train attack dogs. He’s going to be the bait.

This was a good book – I don’t normally read war books, but this is a Nutmeg Award Nominee so I thought I should try it.  I was surprised how much I ended up liking it.  It is written well and Eddy is someone that my heart went out to.  This book deals with prejudice through the telling of a story based on true events.  I learned some new things about WWII. Things I should have known already!  Very good!    – Jessica, Teen Librarian

Leave a Reply

